Explainers US Election results map: Expected timings by state -...

US Election results map: Expected timings by state – Bukipress

-

- Advertisment -

AMERICANS are casting their ballots to decide who, between Donald Trump and Joe Biden, will be their next president.

Results will start coming in on the evening of November 3, 2020.

⚠ Follow our US election 2020 live blog for the latest news & updates

EPA

A person at a voting booth prepares to cast a paper ballot at a polling location in Laurel, Maryland, on November 2, 2020[/caption]

How to track the US election results LIVE with our interactive map

You can track the US elections results live with our interactive map.

EPA

Results will start coming in the evening of November 3. Pictured: A voter in Maryland[/caption]

What time will the results be announced in each state?

To be elected president, a candidate must win at least 270 electoral votes.

Typically, on election night it becomes clear which candidate will meet the threshold.

However, because of the surge in postal voting this year might be slightly different.

These are the times the first votes will start to be reported in each state:

Ohio – 8pm ET, 1am GMT

Florida – 8.30pm ET, 1.30am GMT

North Carolina – 8.30pm-1am ET, 1.30am-6am GMT

Arizona – 10pm ET, 3am GMT

Wisconsin – 3am-6am ET, 8am-11am GMT

Georgia – November 4

Texas – November 4

Minnesota – 12pm Nov 4 ET, 5pm GMT

Nevada – 12pm Nov 4 ET, 5pm GMT

Michigan – November 6

Pennsylvania – November 6

Iowa – Not known

New Hampshire – Not known

AFP or licensors

Donald Trump on the campaign trail[/caption]

Getty Images – Getty

Biden speaks to supporters[/caption]

Where are the swing states?

Swing states are key for either party to win the presidential election.

There are several swing states, that over recent elections have gone both ways.

Of the six swing states, Florida, North Carolina and Arizona are expected to count most of their votes on election night or soon afterwards.

Polls are open in Florida from 7am to 7pm, in North Carolina from 6.30am to 7.30pm, and in Arizona from 6pm to 7pm.

EPA

Voters in Maryland[/caption]

However the closer the margin is, the longer it will take to settle who won each state.

Pennsylvania, Wisconsin and Michigan are in a different position.

Due to the lack of updates on the policies of mailed ballots these states could take days to finish their counts.


Polls are open in all three states from 7am to 8pm.

Votes filled in by citizens are counted as popular votes and do not determine the president’s win. 

Instead, the electoral college determines who the winner of the election is. 

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest news

Q&A about dead suspects in California mass shooting | Latest News

WHAT PROMPTED THE GUNFIRE?Police do not have a motive for the shootings, which ended with a gun battle...

Madcap James Bond ideas that didn’t make the cut — from 007 dressing as Jesus to a David Bowie villain – Bukipress

JAMES BOND is famed for squeezing out of tight spots in pretty miraculous ways. But an eccentric idea by film...

We need to end lockdown quickly & there can be no turning back this time – Bukipress

BORIS Johnson stands on the cusp of another critical moment in his epic battle with Covid. Last April, of course,...

Kelly vs Avanesyan LIVE RESULTS: Stream, TV channel, undercard for big night of boxing at Wembley Arena – latest updates – Bukipress

JOSH KELLY faces the biggest night of his career this evening as he fights David Avanesyan for the European...
- Advertisement -

Liverpool eye Lucas Ocampos transfer but £56m release fee for Sevilla winger could be potential stumbling block – Bukipress

LIVERPOOL are reportedly interested in signing Sevilla winger Lucas Ocampos this summer. But the 26-year-old’s £56m release fee could scupper...

Ant & Dec name Saturday Night Takeaway’s angriest prank victims saying Gordon Ramsay still sends ‘chilling’ texts – Bukipress

ANT McPartlin and Dec Donnelly have revealed the stars they left shaking with rage after their elaborate wind-ups. The pair...

Must read

- Advertisement -

You might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you